VIDEO: Man Pulls Gun On Taxi Driver As Cop Sits In Cruiser Behind Them

Have the fittest really survived? I seriously doubt it after I heard this story. A man in Pennsylvania decided it was a smart idea to rob his cab driver at gun point. Little did he know, a police officer was sitting right behind them at a red light and saw the whole thing.

The attempted robber, Victor Martinez-Herrera, 18, pulled a gun on his taxi driver, Ralph Valletta, after Valletta stopped his car in Wyomissing around 4.30 p.m. as a police cruiser pulled up behind them.

The the thwarted robbery was caught on the dash dam inside Valletta’s car.

‘He’s yelling he wants money, and all I had were $11 in one pocket for change,’ Valletta told the Reading Eagle.

‘I reached into one pocket and handed him the $11, and he’s screaming, ”Give me the rest of the money. I know you got more money”.’

‘I look into the mirror and I’m scared to death at this point,’ Valletta said.

‘I’m worried he’s going to shoot me.

Deputy Sheriff Terry Ely noticed the cab sat at a green light. He then put on his emergency lights. Ely walked up to the taxi as he listened to the robber inside.

‘Right when I hit the door, I heard the driver say, “Please don’t shoot me,” and “He has a gun to my head,” Ely said.

‘I immediately bent down and pulled my firearm out because I noticed he had a hood over his face when he looked over at me. I noticed the money in his hand and a black object in his right hand, and I started ordering him to drop the gun and get out of the car.’

Martinez-Herrera was arrested on the spot and taken to Berks County Prison held on $100,000 bail. He faces robbery, terrorist threats and weapons charges.  The gun turned out to actually be a pellet gun, but was retrofitted to look like a real gun.

Next time look around you buddy before you pull out your gun to rob someone. Duh!

 

Leave a Reply

