Brenden Morrow Announces Retirement After 15 Seasons In The NHL

The Dallas Stars and Brenden Morrow announced today the forward’s retirement from the National Hockey League after 15 seasons. Morrow signed a ceremonial one-day agreement with Dallas on Thursday and retired as a member of the Stars.

Morrow signed in the first round (25th overall) in the 1997 NHL Draft with Dallas. Morrow spent 13 seasons with the Stars, recording 528 points in 835 regular-season games with the Dallas Stars club. The forward was the fifth captain in Stars history.

“The game of hockey has given me so many opportunities in my life,” said Morrow. “Winning a gold medal for Canada at the Olympic Games and appearing in two Stanley Cup Final series are things that I only dreamed of growing up. Getting to perform on those stages is still surreal to me. To all my family, friends, trainers, equipment managers, coaches and teammates, thank you for supporting and pushing me throughout my career. Being able to put on an NHL sweater was something that I never took for granted, and it’s with a full heart that my family and I have decided that it’s time for me to officially retire from the National Hockey League.”

“Brenden exemplified what a captain should be,” said Dallas Stars President, CEO and Governor Jim Lites. “He left an indelible mark on this franchise, leading with heart and passion. There wasn’t a night where he didn’t give every ounce of energy he had, and we deeply appreciate all of his contributions to the game.”

Morrow will reside in Dallas with his wife Anne-Marie and their three children.

Congrats Brenden and job well done! You’ve made Dallas proud.

Leave a Reply

