Houston Hispanic Woman Has Surgery And Wakes Up With A British Accent

Lisa Alamia, of Rosenburg, Texas, a suburb of Houston underwent jaw surgery and then woke up with a British accent.

CBS Houston reports that six months ago, Alamia underwent jaw surgery to correct an overbite, the outcome resulted in nerve damage that led to a condition known as foreign accent syndrome. 

Alamia said, “People who don’t know me, they’re like, ‘Hey, where are you from?'”

She tells people, “I’m from Rosenberg, [Texas]. They’re like, ‘Where is that?’ I’m like, ‘Right here in Rosenberg.’ ‘Oh, you’re from here? How do you talk like that?’ So that’s where the whole story comes up.”

When Alamia’s daughter Kayla heard her mom’s British accent, she said, “I thought she was joking with me.”

“But then she showed me that the doctor diagnosed her with foreign accent syndrome. Then I was like, ‘Oh, Lord,'” she added.

This syndrome is very rare and less than 100 people have been diagnosed worldwide with foreign accent syndrome in the last century, according to Houston Methodist Sugar Land Hospital.

Alamia said she noticed certain words right away that sound so different, “‘Mum’ is probably the one word I notice right away.” “‘Kitten’ (is another). They think I’m talking about a baby cat. I’m not. I’m saying, ‘I’m just kidding.'”

Crazy! I have never heard of this before.

Leave a Reply

